The Purpose of the Order of the Arrow

  1. To recognize those Scout campers who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives.
  2. To develop and maintain camping traditions and spirit.
  3. To promote Scout camping.
  4. To crystallize the Scout habit of helpfulness into a life purpose of leadership in cheerful service to others.

History of the Order of the Arrow

The OA was founded by Dr. Goodman and Caroll Edson in 1915 at the Treasure Island Camp of the Philadelphia Council. It became an official program in 1922 and was approved as part of the Scouting program in 1934.

In 1948 the OA, recognized as the BSA's national brotherhood of honor campers, became an official part of the national camping program of BSA.



  • Be a registered member of a Boy Scout Troop
  • Hold First Class Rank
  • Have 15 days and nights of camping with at least one long term trip (6 consecutive days)
  • Be elected by the Scouts of his unit



This document is based on the

Boy Scouts of America Web Page's Fact Sheet: Order of the Arrow


Materials found on InsaneScouter'.org is © 1998 - 2025, but may be reproduced and used for anything consistent with the Scouting and Guiding programs. Unless otherwise noted on the page. If you believe we are republishing your copyrighted material without permission, please Contact Us including the url to have it removed or your copyright information added. All opinions expressed on these pages are those of the original authors. All holdings are subject to this Disclaimer.

Please be advised that InsaneScouter is NOT affiliated with any Scouting or Guiding Organization including Boy Scouts of America.

Scouting resources for Den Leaders, Cubmasters, Scoutmasters, Girl Guides, Girl Scout, Cub Scout, Venturing, Exploring, Beavers, Joey, Boy Scout Leaders